Synod Welcomes New Authorized Lay Worship Leaders

The journey of learning began last fall and now seven eager students (which includes our own Ron Tomko) are ready to begin their service as Authorized Lay Worship Leaders to the congregations of this synod.

The participants in the 60-hour instructional program completed courses and assignments in Old and New Testament, the Lutheran Confessions, worship and liturgy, and preaching.  The students were taught by Pastor Jake Jacobson, Pastor Sandra Jones, and Bishop Ralph Jones. Additional mentoring happens through their collegial relationships with ordained pastors of the synod and at three continuing education sessions offered each year.

A Lay Worship Leader (LWL) is authorized to lead worship and preach at regular Saturday/Sunday liturgies in the congregations of this synod by invitation of the called pastor, appointed interim, or congregational council.  They do not preside or distribute the Sacrament of Holy Communion.  Contact information for all of the Lay Worship Leaders who are currently available to serve may be found on the synod website.

The Synod welcomes Andy Francisco from St. Mark’s in Waterford, Gary Mickle and Randy Britton from First Lutheran in Warren, Mimi Laughner and Kevin Schafer from First Lutheran in Ridgway, Ken Snider from St. Matthew’s in Erie, and Ron Tomko from Holy Trinity in Hermitage.

Congratulations Ron!!!

 Thank you for your willingness to serve.  May the Holy Spirit inspire your faithful proclamation!